Nostalgic

A_Chance_to_sit

A Chance to Sit

Natalie,

Now that my baby has learned to crawl, I think of this (see photo) as one of the few times I get to sit down during the day. I may not get a break or get to be alone, but at least I am sitting still for a minute. I’m sure you have been there, all mothers have (and even dads!). Especially those who stay at home, we rarely even get to pee by ourselves!

Although this lack of privacy can be frustrating at times, there are many other upsides to motherhood. Watching them learn and grow, them making you laugh (even when you want to scream), their giggles alone! Which is why your last letter really touched me. I have been having many of the same feelings lately. My baby is turning one in a few short weeks. I have been doing a lot of thinking about his milestones and mine.

He is crawling (almost walking), and, man is that baby fast. I know what you are thinking, this is my third, I should know the drill by now. And, I do. It’s just that you forget sometimes. You forget how they go from sleepy bumps to smiling and laughing, to rolling and crawling and then walking. And it’s all so fast. Each happy milestone reached and the first year is over before you know it. There are so many firsts in a child’s life, but there is really nothing like that first year.

Can you tell I am feeling a bit nostalgic? I am remembering my first pregnancy. How everything was so uncertain; how I had so many questions! Now, my Little Man is almost done with Kindergarten and is a month away from 6 years old.

My second pregnancy is less memorable, but the childbirth was not. She came quickly into this world, startling even the doctor — a mere 2 hour labor — she was in a rush! My Cricket, the darling middle daughter, is already three and half and is really pushing for her independence.

And then there is my sweet baby boy….my happiest baby. He is so content . He can be easily entertained by just his siblings that he hardly plays with toys. Makes me think of how far I have come, how many milestones reached, how many struggles and learning moments I have had along the way. Motherhood is on the job training, no manual or instructions provided. Here are some of my greatest lessons:

1. You can’t be a perfect mother. You can only do your best every day.

2. Although you are now more focused on caring for your children, you must not forget to take care of yourself.

3. Ask for advice, but just because you get it doesn’t mean you have to take it. Everyone has an opinion, but it may not always be the best for you or your child.

4. The days are long, but the months and years go by fast.

5. Always carry wipes.

I’m sure there are many more lessons to be learned and I look forward to the adventure, even the long days.

Miss you,
Courtney

 

One thought on “Nostalgic

Leave a Reply

