National Coffee Day — Get your FREE cup

National_Coffee_Day

National Coffee Day

Natalie,

Today is National Coffee Day and boy do I need a cup or two (or three, or four).

Before I became a mother, sleep was so important. It still is, I just don’t remember it anymore. I could sleep from 10 to 10, no problem. I used to get mad at myself for sleeping in too much on the weekends and wasting the day! If only I could have stored up all that sleep I was getting…

I took sleep for granted.

Pre-motherhood, I knew babies didn’t sleep much that they woke up every three or four hours even at night. My mother had even told me I didn’t sleep through the night until I was five. I always thought she was exaggerating, being a little dramatic.

Now, I believe her with every fiber of my being.

Honestly, I can’t remember the last time I slept through the night. If it isn’t Peanut (my baby) who is up, then someone has a nightmare, someone wets the bed, someone needs a drink, or someone needs a snuggle. Usually after I help them with whatever they need, they are right back to sleep. If only I were that lucky.

I have been a mom for over 6 years now and I don’t think I have slept through the night in 7 — yes it starts with pregnancy folks! I wish someone had warned me. Oh yea, my mom did…I wish I listened! I wish I hadn’t taken for granted all those lazy mornings, all those lovely nights of uninterrupted sleep.

For those of you new moms or about to be new moms…I wish you more sleep! I hope for you babies who sleep and sleep early on. I hope that you are rewarded with kids who sleep past 5 a.m.

Check out this article to see where you can get a free cup today!

Courtney

__________________________________________

If you liked this letter, you might also enjoy:

Farmer Children

Two Moms in a Battle for Bedtime

To New Mothers

__________________________________________

Leave a Reply

