Birthday Reflections

 

Reflections

Cricket’s Birthday

Today is Cricket’s birthday. My little girl arrived in my life in a flash — a mere two hours! She has been either busy or asleep ever since. She only has two speeds.

She fills our lives with words, songs and questions. She has spunk and a flare for the dramatic. She is 100 percent girl, all dresses and tutus; but she is tougher than any boy and doesn’t let anyone push her around.

I cant imagine life without her.

There is something about my kid’s birthdays that make me reflect on my life.It seems their birthdays mark time moving more so than mine. Maybe it is because they change so much so quickly.

Everyday they grow and learn new things. They learn their letters, then they read. They learn to kick a ball and then they are playing soccer. They discover new ways to make me laugh…or cry.

I don’t always stop and notice. I don’t often realize the change has happened, until I think back. I am too busy planning what we are doing next, folding laundry, washing dishes, giving baths, packing lunches, helping with homework…regular life.

I woke up one day and my Little Man was one — 12 little months had gone by.  I blinked and Cricket had arrived in our lives. Today, we have Peanut who is no longer a baby (full on toddler), Little Man is six and Cricket is four!

Crazy how fast it all goes.

Over the last six years, I have grown along with my children. I have loved and lost more than I knew I could. I have become a strong mother. One with more patience than I thought I could have (some days, I wish I had more). I have learned from my children and they have learned from me.

I encourage you to take a look back today. Reflect on how far you have come as a parent: how much you have influenced your children’s lives. How have they changed/grown and how have you?

Courtney

___________

If you liked this post, you might like these:

Today I Miss Work

Story of Cricket

Kids Keep You Young? Um, no.

**Photography credit to Paintchips and Cupcakes

 

3 thoughts on “Birthday Reflections

  1. val says:

    My little gal will be two in a couple months. I’m learning more and more patience everyday. I want her to be kind but strong so I’m trying to be the same to her. I mean, I am her biggest example, right? At the same time though, I’m losing my patience for adults being ridiculous. I steer very clear of people that thrive on madness, and am very leery of gossipy type women. In the past, I was fine with just sitting there, half listening or watching. It’s almost like I only have so much patience and I’m busy using it with my husband and child that I just don’t have enough for undeserving people. I can’t be the only one, can I?

Leave a Reply

